October Monarch in Snellville

Monarch Butterfly in Snellville, Georgia, October 14, 2022

So, you’ll never guess what?! It was a gorgeous day today, and when I was outside in my backyard at lunchtime, there was a lovely Monarch butterfly flitting around to all of my roses and blossoms on my backyard butterfly bushes. I believe that this Monarch was a female; she was small and very skittish. She didn’t alight on the flowers for very long before she was off soaring about again. Just to get the two pictures in this post, I had to run from one location of roses to this location with the purple butterfly bush because she was so quick! I was lucky to get these pictures, and they are the best I could get.

Monarch butterfly with wings open in Snellville, Georgia, October 14, 2022

This is only the third Monarch I’ve seen here in Snellville this Fall, and I’ve only seen those three during this current week of October 9. Now, I have to wonder if I’ll see any more as they pass through on their way to Mexico for winter. What a treat it was to see and enjoy this Monarch today!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About LepidopteraLovers

I enjoy collecting and photographing butterflies and moths, as well as blogging about them!

Leave a comment