Fabulous Fluttering Fritillaries (By: Michele Babcock-Nice)

Gulf Fritillary, Georgia, USA, Summer 2010

Fritillary butterflies are generally so orange and beautiful, fluttering about the flowers in my yard.  The year 2010 was an excellent year for butterflies in Georgia.  Having lived in Georgia for 12 years, I’ve never seen so many butterflies as I have in 2010.  Hence, the many photographs I’ve taken of them from the summer of that year.  In 2010, I observed many Gulf Fritillaries visiting the flowers in my garden, as seen in two of my photos included here.  Also keep in mind, however, that Gulf Fritillaries are not considered true fritillaries.

Gulf Fritillary, Georgia, USA, Summer 2010

There was another type of fritillary that I saw enjoying the nectar from my garden flowers in 2010.  It’s flight was much faster than any other fritillaries I had ever seen before, similar to the fast-flying Painted Ladies and Question Marks.  It’s coloring is not nearly as bright orange, and is has more tan and brown coloring, making it the Variegated Fritillary, found below.   

Variegated Fritillary, Georgia, USA, Summer 2010

These are the fabulous fluttering fritillaries from my flower garden of Summer 2010.  I hope that you have enjoyed viewing them in these photos as much as I enjoying viewing them in flight in real life.  They are majestic and beautiful, delicate flying creatures.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About LepidopteraLovers

I enjoy collecting and photographing butterflies and moths, as well as blogging about them!

Leave a comment